Waterless Urinals?


Waterless Urinals?, originally uploaded by chcameron.

This is one of the waterless urinals that populate the Cronkite building. I don’t know quite what it is but I just don’t trust them.

I mean, how exactly is this sanitary.  I get that it saves water with no flushing, but it seems unsanitary to me, with no water to wash the surface of the urinal after each use.

The little black mark on the inside, above the circular part, is a picture of a bug.  I heard that an experiment was done in Japan where having a small etching of a bug increased the accuracy of a man’s “aim”, so to speak.  This must be the “sweet spot” where things flow the best into the bottom, I suppose.

2 thoughts on “Waterless Urinals?

Leave a Comment

